Contact us
Contact us
Please fill out a form
Starred fields (*) are necessary to be filled out.
Our specialist will contact you asap.

Thank you, your message is accepted.

The answer will be sent to the specified e-mail.

EN RU

Sciaridae or fungus gnats

Sciaridae

A widespread family of insects, which, at the moment, includes more than 1,700 species described. The larvae of sciarid can damage the roots of young plants.

 

Damage

Most of the species have larvae that live in the substrate, feed on the decomposing plant remains and do not cause significant damage to the culture. Plant-eating species of Scirad in mass accumulation can cause significant harm to young plants, damaging roots and radical areas. Plants damaged by pests lag behind in development, their leaves lose the turgor. Due to damage to the root system, the plant becomes less resistant to diseases, may be exposed to secondary infections or completely die. Cucumber (Bradysia brunnipes Mg.), Hothouse (Plastosciosa perniciosa Edv) and potato (Pnyxia scabiei Hopkins) gnats are representatives of herbivorous Sciarids and harm mainly on cucumber and ornamental crops (shenpolia, hibiscus, poinsettia, anthurium). Adult individuals do not eat, because they have an underdeveloped oral apparatus.

How to recognize

Fungus gnats have a body length of about 0.5-3 mm, a round head, long and thin legs and antennae, gray or black. In most cases, adult individuals of Cyristida are able to fly, but there are species with wingless adults. The larvae have a dark head and a translucent body, 2-10 mm in size. Large larvae are able to leave behind a slimy trace on the soil.

Личинки Сциарид

The larvae of Sciarid

 

Life cycle

Favorable factors for pest development are a wetland substrate and the presence of an excess of organic substances that decompose rapidly. The female lays up to 250 eggs in a moist substrate or in fruiting bodies of fungi. After 5-6 days, larvae appear, which begin to actively feed. After a lapse of two weeks, the larvae pupate in the soil or damaged parts of the plant. After 5 days, adult mushroom mosquitoes leave the pupae. The adult lives about a week. Years of an insect in a closed ground is observed in the period from February to March, however individual adults usually are present all year round.

Prevention and control of fungus gnat

It is almost impossible to get rid of Sciarid completely: as long as the environmental conditions allow to multiply and develop, the insect will appear again and again. Larvae of fungus gnats cannot stand the drying of the substrate. 

Agrotechnical measures

Do not use soil that contains a large amount of decomposing plant residues. In soil on certain plants that are resistant to temporary moisture deficiencies, it is possible to practice watering after drying of the upper soil layer by 2.5-5 cm. Also, to prevent and destroy existing larvae, soil is steamed before planting. Adult specimens of fungus gnats are trapped with glue traps of yellow color.

Biological control

Soil predatory mites Macrochelis robustulus and Stratiollepsis scimitus are able to control the larvae of Sciarid.

Написать нам
Связаться с нами
Пожалуйста, заполните форму.
Поля, отмеченные звездочкой (*), обязательны.
В течение 30-60 минут с Вами свяжется наш специалист.

Спасибо, Ваше сообщение принято.

Ответ будет отправлен на указанный e-mail.

RU EN

Сциариды (Sciaridae) или Грибные комарики

Сциариды

Широко распространенное семейство насекомых, которое, на данный момент, включает в себя более 1700 описанных видов. Личинки Сциарид могут повреждать корни молодых растений.

 

Наносимый вред

Большая часть видов имеют личинок, которые обитая в субстрате, питаются разлагающими остатками растений и не причиняют значительного вреда культуре. Растительноядные виды Сциарид при массовом скоплении могут наносить существенный вред молодым растениям, повреждая корни и прикорневые участки. Растения, поврежденные вредителями, отстают в развитии, их листья теряют тургор. Вследствие повреждений корневой системы растение становиться менее устойчивым к болезням, может подвергаться вторичным инфекциям или вовсе погибнуть. Огуречный (Bradysia brunnipes Mg.), тепличный (Plastosciosa perniciosa Edv) и картофельный (Pnyxia scabiei Hopkins) комарики являются представителями растительноядных Сциарид и вредят в основном на огурце и цветочно-декоративных культурах (сенполия, гибискус, пуансеттия, антуриум). Взрослые особи не питаются, поскольку имеют недоразвитый ротовой аппарат.

Как распознать

Грибные комарики имеют длину тела около 0,5-3 мм, круглую голову, длинные и тонкие ноги и усики, сероватый или черный окрас. В большинстве случаев взрослые особи Сциарид способны летать, но есть виды с бескрылыми имаго. Личинки имеют темную голову и полупрозрачное тело, размером 2-10 мм. Большие личинки способны на почве  оставлять после себя слизистый след.

Личинки Сциарид
Личинки Сциарид

 

Жизненный цикл Сциарид

Благоприятными факторами для развития вредителя являются переувлажненный субстрат и наличие избытка органических веществ, которые быстро разлагаются. Самка откладывает до 250 яиц во влажный субстрат или в плодовые тела грибов. Через 5-6 дней появляются личинки, которые начинают активно питаться. В прошествии двух недель личинки окукливаются в почве или поврежденных частях растения. Через 5 дней из куколок выходят взрослые особи грибного комарика. Взрослая особь живет около недели. Лет насекомого в закрытом грунте наблюдается в период с февраля по март, однако отдельные взрослые особи обычно присутствуют круглогодично.

Профилактика и меры борьбы с Грибным комариком

Полностью избавиться от Сциарид практически не возможно: пока условия среды будут позволять размножаться и развиваться, насекомое будет появляться вновь и вновь. Личинки грибных комариков не выдерживают подсыхания субстрата.

Агротехнические меры

Не использовать почву, которая содержит большое количество разлагающихся растительных остатков. В почве на определенных растениях, устойчивых к временным недостаткам влаги, можно практиковать полив после просыхания верхнего слоя грунта на 2,5-5 см. Также для профилактики и уничтожения имеющихся личинок, перед посадкой растений проводят пропаривание почвы. Взрослые особи грибного комарика отлавливают клеевыми ловушками желтого цвета.

Биологические меры борьбы

Почвенные хищные клещи Макрохелес робустулус и Стратиолелапс сцимитус способны контролировать личинок Сциарид.